“The World of Work” 1

cuando_sea_grande

(Abajo en español)

When I was in primary school we were assigned with the task of creating a book. In my book, I included one section titled “When I Grow Up” where I explained how I wanted to become a painter “because I really like painting landscapes, people, girls, things. I really like painting with crayons, watercolour, gouache and chalk and I want to learn how to paint with a painting teacher”….

It seemed so simple when I was a little child to think about my dream job, but a few years later, as I was about to finish high school and it was time to decide what I wanted to study in university, this became such a frightening topic. I desperately wished I would have had more useful guidance during this process beyond the usual and impersonal multiple-choice vocational tests in orientation class that every time I made them, to my disgrace, seemed to come up with different results. Luckily for me, and without really remembering what it was that finally made me make up my mind,  I went with my heart and studied design, staying close to my childhood dreams.

Recently I have been commissioned to be one of the artists/designers/photographers to participate in “SEGRO Young Artist Programme”, a collaboration between Creative Junction and SEGRO that has been running for five years now, forming partnerships between creative practitioners and schools to “inspire young people, develop talent and celebrate art” guiding them in the creation of original pieces of artwork under the theme of “The World of Work”.

Therefore, with a particular interest in this subject, I am eager to start working with my group of students inviting them to engage in the creative discovery of  meanings, possibilities and implications of “the world of work” thinking about the role that their passions, skills and values play within it, hoping it will help them in their personal and difficult process of figuring out what it is that they want to do with their lives positive that along the way I will be receiving high doses of inspiration as well that I will be sharing here in the near future.

Question:
What is your dream job?

“Men for the sake of getting a living, forget to live”
Margarer Fuller

———————————————————————————————————————————–

cuando_sea_grande

Cuando estaba en la escuela primaria nos asignaron la tarea de crear un libro. En mi libro incluí una sección titulada “Cuando sea grande” en la que explico que quiero ser pintora “porque me gusta mucho pintar paisajes, personas, muñecas, cosas. Me gusta pintar con creyones, acuarelas, témpera y tiza y quiero aprender a pintar con un profesor de pintura “….

Parecía tan simple cuando era niña pensar en mi trabajo ideal, pero unos años más tarde, cuando estaba a punto de terminar el bachillerato y era hora de decidir lo que quería estudiar en la universidad, esto se convirtió en un tema terrible, deseaba desesperadamente haber tenido una orientación más útil durante este proceso más allá de los habituales e impersonales tests de selección múltiple que nos daban en la clase de orientación vocacional los cuales para mi desgracia cada vez que los presentaba me daban resultados diferentes. Por suerte y sin realmente recordar qué fue lo que finalmente me ayudó a decidirme, seguí mi corazón y estudié diseño, manteniéndome cerca de mis sueños de infancia.

Recientemente fui contratada para ser una de los artistas / diseñadores / fotógrafos a participar en el “Programa de Jóvenes Artistas SEGRO”, una colaboración entre Creative Junction y SEGRO que ha estado funcionando desde hace cinco años, formando alianzas entre profesionales creativos y escuelas para “inspirar a los jóvenes, desarrollar talento y celebrar el arte” guiándolos en la creación de piezas originales de arte bajo el tema de “El Mundo del Trabajo”.

Por lo tanto, con un interés especial en este tema, estoy ansiosa por empezar a trabajar con mi grupo de estudiantes invitándolos a participar en el descubrimiento creativo de significados, posibilidades e implicaciones del “mundo del trabajo” pensando en el papel que sus pasiones, habilidades y valores juegan dentro de él, esperando que les ayude en su personal y difícil proceso de definir qué es lo que quieren hacer con sus vidas, segura de que a lo largo del camino recibiré de su parte altas dosis de inspiración que estaré compartiendo aquí en un futuro cercano.

Pregunta:
¿Cuál es tu trabajo ideal y por qué?
“Los hombres en aras de ganarse la vida, se olvidan de vivir”
Margarer Fuller

Leave a Reply

