A beautiful addition to my “NOW” folder…

LIVENOW_samples

(Abajo en español)

While searching for ideas for a design project, I came across an initiative that has lead me to write the first post on my blog where the illustration featured is not my own (although it did inspire me to get drawing) and that made me wish my “Time: NOW” folder was big enough to fit a whole book inside.

And what a lovely name this project has: “Live Now, A community of Happiness”.

Started by designer Eric Smith who shares that after being diagnosed with cancer discovered the “ability to absorb every moment as if each one were (his) whole life” the community describes itself as “a growing collection of friends, powerfully pursuing the notion of ‘living now’.”

As part of their work, they have created this incredible book exuding creative and beautifully illustrated thoughts on happiness each page featuring an artist’s uplifting interpretation of the subject that can be “torn out to hang up or give away to spread smiles”.

The concept reminded me a bit of Thom’s appreciation toolkit, in my view being worthy to highlight the value of taking off our armours, embracing our sensibility hence being able to reach and/or learn from other people’s emotions. It also served me to reassure my commitment to engage with everyday activism.

I invite you to take a look at “Live Now” to explore the beauty of this project, support the community and be inspired to discover yourself the joys of living in the present moment.

Live Now book

Mientras buscaba ideas para un proyecto de diseño, me encontré con una iniciativa que me llevó a escribir el primer post en mi blog dónde la ilustración protagonista no es de mi autoría (aunque sí me inspiró a ponerme a dibujar) e hizo que deseara que mi  “carpeta Tiempo: AHORA” fuera lo suficientemente grande como para contener un libro entero.

Y el proyecto se llama nada más y nada menos que:  “Vive Ahora, Una comunidad de Felicidad”.

Iniciado por el diseñador Eric Smith quien comparte que luego de ser diagnosticado con cancer descubrió la “habilidad de absorber cada momento como si cada uno fuera (su) vida entera” la comunidad se describe a si misma como “una colección creciente de amigos, poderosamente persiguiendo la noción de ‘vivir ahora’.”

Como parte de su trabajo, crearon este increible libro exudando pensamientos acerca de la felicidad ilustrados creativa y estéticamente, cada página conteniendo una interpretación particular de un artista diferente acerca de este tema con la adición de que las páginas se pueden “arrancar para ser colgadas o regalar para repartir sonrisas”.

El concepto me recordó un poco a la caja de herramientas de apreciación de Thom, en mi opinión cabiendo destacar el valor de quitarnos nuestras armaduras aceptando nuestra sensibilidad y así haciéndonos capaces de alcanzar y/o aprender de las emociones de los demás, reafirmando así mismo mi compromiso de involucrarme con “activismo diario”.

Los invito a que echen un vistazo a “Live Now”  para explorar este hermoso proyecto, apoyar la comunidad e inspirarse a descubrir por si mismos la dicha de vivir en el momento presente.

Leave a Reply

